Brazil has a total of 29 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Carnival Friday
Friday, February 17, 2023 Carnival Friday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Saturday
Saturday, February 18, 2023 Carnival Saturday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Sunday
Sunday, February 19, 2023 Carnival Sunday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Monday
Monday, February 20, 2023 Carnival Monday is a government holiday in Brazil
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 Carnival has several long-standing traditions in Brazil.
Carnival end (until 2pm)
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Brazil (Brasilia)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Tiradentes Day
Friday, April 21, 2023 Tiradentes Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 14, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 8, 2023 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
Brazilian Valentine's Day
Monday, June 12, 2023 Brazilian Valentine's Day is a observance in Brazil
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Brazil (Brasilia)
Father's Day
Sunday, August 13, 2023 Father's Day is a observance in Brazil
Independence Day
Thursday, September 7, 2023 Independence Day is a national holiday in Brazil
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Brazil (Brasilia)
Our Lady of Aparecida / Children's Day
Thursday, October 12, 2023 Our Lady of Aparecida / Children's Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Teacher's Day
Sunday, October 15, 2023 Teacher's Day is a observance in Brazil
Public Service Holiday
Saturday, October 28, 2023 Public Service Holiday is a government holiday in Brazil
All Souls' Day
Thursday, November 2, 2023 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Republic Proclamation Day
Wednesday, November 15, 2023 Republic Proclamation Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Black Awareness Day
Monday, November 20, 2023 Black Awareness Day is a observance in Brazil
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Brazil (Brasilia)
Christmas Eve (from 2pm)
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve (from 2pm)
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.