Bosnia has a total of 36 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's (Day 2)
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year's (Day 2) is a public holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
New Year Holiday
Tuesday, January 3, 2023 New Year Holiday is a local holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Orthodox Christmas Eve
Friday, January 6, 2023 Orthodox Christmas Eve is a optional holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Orthodox Christmas Day
Saturday, January 7, 2023 Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Day of the Republika Srpska
Monday, January 9, 2023 Day of the Republika Srpska is a local holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Orthodox New Year
Saturday, January 14, 2023 Orthodox New Year is a local holiday and Orthodox holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
Independence Day
Wednesday, March 1, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Mothers' Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Brčko District Establishment Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 Brčko District Establishment Day is a local holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Bosnia-Herzegovina (Sarajevo)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 8, 2023 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Orthodox Good Friday
Friday, April 14, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 15, 2023 The Saturday before Easter Sunday is also known as Holy Saturday for many Orthodox churches worldwide.
Orthodox Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 16, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 17, 2023 Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
End of Ramadan
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Labor Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Labor Day (Day 2)
Tuesday, May 2, 2023 Labor Day (Day 2) is a public holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Victory Day
Tuesday, May 9, 2023 Victory Day is a local holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Fathers' Day
Sunday, June 18, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Bosnia-Herzegovina (Sarajevo)
Feast of the Sacrifice
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Bosnia-Herzegovina (Sarajevo)
Halloween
Tuesday, October 31, 2023 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Dayton Peace Agreement Day
Tuesday, November 21, 2023 Dayton Peace Agreement Day is a local holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Statehood Day
Saturday, November 25, 2023 Statehood Day is a local holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Bosnia-Herzegovina (Sarajevo)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is a optional holiday in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.