Uruguay has a total of 22 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
The Three Wise Men Day
Thursday, January 6, 2022 The Three Wise Men Day is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Carnival / Shrove Monday
Monday, February 28, 2022 Carnival / Shrove Monday is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday / Pancake Day
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday before the fasting period of Lent. It is celebrated by eating pancakes and holding Carnival parades.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Landing of the 33 orientals
Monday, April 18, 2022 Landing of the 33 orientals is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Labor Day / May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Battle of Las Piedras
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 Battle of Las Piedras is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
José Artigas' Birthday Memorial
Sunday, June 19, 2022 José Artigas' Birthday Memorial is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Constitution Day
Monday, July 18, 2022 Constitution Day is a national holiday in Uruguay
Independence Day
Thursday, August 25, 2022 Independence Day is a national holiday in Uruguay
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Day of cultural diversity
Wednesday, October 12, 2022 Day of cultural diversity is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
All Souls' Day
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.