Uganda has a total of 21 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Liberation Day
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 Liberation Day is a public holiday in Uganda
Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum is a public holiday in Uganda
International Women's Day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 International Women's Day is a public holiday in Uganda
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Uganda (Mexico City)
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labour Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 8, 2022 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Martyr's Day
Friday, June 3, 2022 Martyr's Day is a public holiday in Uganda
National Heroes Day
Thursday, June 9, 2022 National Heroes Day is a public holiday in Uganda
Father's Day
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 Father's Day is a observance in Uganda
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Uganda (Mexico City)
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Uganda (Mexico City)
Independence Day
Sunday, October 9, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in Uganda
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Uganda (Mexico City)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Uganda