South Sudan has a total of 21 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Peace Agreement Day
Sunday, January 9, 2022 Peace Agreement Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Valentine's Day
Monday, February 14, 2022 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
International Women's Day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 International Women's Day is a observance in South Sudan
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in South Sudan (Juba)
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
SPLA Day
Monday, May 16, 2022 SPLA Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Father's Day
Friday, June 10, 2022 Father's Day is a observance in South Sudan
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in South Sudan (Juba)
Mother's Day
Monday, July 4, 2022 Mother's Day is a observance in South Sudan
Independence Day
Saturday, July 9, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Martyrs Day
Saturday, July 30, 2022 Martyrs Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in South Sudan (Juba)
Grandparents' Day
Sunday, November 13, 2022 Grandparents' Day is a observance in South Sudan
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in South Sudan (Juba)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Republic Day
Wednesday, December 28, 2022 Republic Day is a observance in South Sudan
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.