Somalia has a total of 18 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Isra and Mi'raj
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Somalia (Mogadishu)
May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr Holiday
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 Eid al-Fitr Holiday is a common local holiday in Somalia
Restoration of Somaliland Sovereignty
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 Restoration of Somaliland Sovereignty is a common local holiday in Somalia
Restoration of Somaliland Sovereignty Holiday
Thursday, May 19, 2022 Restoration of Somaliland Sovereignty Holiday is a common local holiday in Somalia
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Somalia (Mogadishu)
Independence Day
Sunday, June 26, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in Somalia
Republic Day
Friday, July 1, 2022 Republic Day is a common local holiday in Somalia
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha Holiday
Monday, July 11, 2022 Eid al-Adha Holiday is a common local holiday in Somalia
Muharram
Saturday, July 30, 2022 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Ashura
Monday, August 8, 2022 Ashura is a public holiday in Somalia
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Somalia (Mogadishu)
The Prophet's Birthday
Saturday, October 8, 2022 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Somalia (Mogadishu)