Senegal has a total of 20 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Senegal (Dakar)
Independence Day
Monday, April 4, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in Senegal
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labour Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Korité
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 26, 2022 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 29, 2022 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 6, 2022 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 19, 2022 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Senegal (Dakar)
Tabaski
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Tamkharit
Monday, August 8, 2022 Tamkharit is a public holiday in Senegal
Assumption of Mary
Monday, August 15, 2022 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Grand Magal de Touba
Thursday, September 15, 2022 Grand Magal de Touba is a public holiday in Senegal
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Senegal (Dakar)
Maouloud
Saturday, October 8, 2022 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
All Saints' Day
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Senegal (Dakar)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.