Rwanda has a total of 23 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day After New Year's Day
Sunday, January 2, 2022 Day After New Year's Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
New Year observed
Monday, January 3, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day After New Year's Day observed
Monday, January 3, 2022 Day After New Year's Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
National Heroes' Day
Tuesday, February 1, 2022 National Heroes' Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Rwanda (Kigali)
Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day
Thursday, April 7, 2022 Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Labor Day observed
Monday, May 2, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Rwanda (Kigali)
Independence Day
Friday, July 1, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
Liberation Day
Monday, July 4, 2022 Liberation Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
Eid ul Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Umuganura Day
Friday, August 5, 2022 Umuganura Day is a public holiday in Rwanda
Assumption of Mary
Monday, August 15, 2022 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Rwanda (Kigali)
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Rwanda (Kigali)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day observed
Monday, December 26, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Rwanda