Malta has a total of 21 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Feast of Saint Paul's Shipwreck
Thursday, February 10, 2022 Feast of Saint Paul's Shipwreck is a public holiday in Malta
Feast of Saint Joseph
Saturday, March 19, 2022 Feast of Saint Joseph is a public holiday in Malta
Freedom Day
Thursday, March 31, 2022 Freedom Day is a national holiday in Malta
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Bank Holiday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Malta
Labour Day/May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Sette Giugno
Tuesday, June 7, 2022 Sette Giugno is a national holiday in Malta
Feast of Saints Peter and Paul
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 Feast of Saints Peter and Paul is a public holiday in Malta
The Feast of Mary's Assumption
Monday, August 15, 2022 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
The Feast of Our Lady of Victories
Thursday, September 8, 2022 The Feast of Our Lady of Victories is a national holiday in Malta
Independence Day
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 Independence Day is a national holiday in Malta
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Thursday, December 8, 2022 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Republic Day
Tuesday, December 13, 2022 Republic Day is a national holiday in Malta
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Boxing Day is a observance in Malta
Bank Holiday
Monday, December 26, 2022 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Malta
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.