North Korea has a total of 21 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Seollal
Tuesday, February 1, 2022 Lunar New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Cheongwoldaeboreum
Tuesday, February 15, 2022 Cheongwoldaeboreum is a public holiday in North Korea
Birth date of Kim Jong Il
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 Birth date of Kim Jong Il is a public holiday in North Korea
International Women's Day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 International Women's Day is a public holiday in North Korea
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in North Korea (Pyongyang)
Birth Date of Kim Il Sung
Friday, April 15, 2022 Birth Date of Kim Il Sung is a public holiday in North Korea
Chosun People's Army Foundation Day
Monday, April 25, 2022 Chosun People's Army Foundation Day is a public holiday in North Korea
May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Chosun Children's Union Foundation Day
Monday, June 6, 2022 Chosun Children's Union Foundation Day is a public holiday in North Korea
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in North Korea (Pyongyang)
Day of Victory in the Fatherland Liberation War
Wednesday, July 27, 2022 Day of Victory in the Fatherland Liberation War is a public holiday in North Korea
Liberation Day
Monday, August 15, 2022 Liberation Day is a public holiday in North Korea
Day of Songun
Thursday, August 25, 2022 Day of Songun is a public holiday in North Korea
National Day
Friday, September 9, 2022 National Day is a public holiday in North Korea
Chuseok Harvest Festival
Saturday, September 10, 2022 Chuseok Harvest Festival is a public holiday in North Korea
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in North Korea (Pyongyang)
Party Foundation Day
Monday, October 10, 2022 Party Foundation Day is a public holiday in North Korea
Mother's Day
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 Mother's Day is a public holiday in North Korea
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in North Korea (Pyongyang)
Constitution Day
Tuesday, December 27, 2022 Constitution Day is a public holiday in North Korea