Kiribati has a total of 16 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
International Women's Day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 International Women's Day is a public holiday in Kiribati
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Kiribati (Tarawa)
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Kiribati (Tarawa)
Independence Day holiday
Monday, July 11, 2022 Independence Day holiday is a public holiday in Kiribati
Independence Day
Tuesday, July 12, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in Kiribati
Unimwane Day
Friday, July 15, 2022 Unimwane Day is a observance in Kiribati
Unaine Day
Saturday, July 16, 2022 Unaine Day is a observance in Kiribati
Youth Day
Monday, August 1, 2022 Youth Day is a public holiday in Kiribati
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Kiribati (Tarawa)
Human Rights and Peace Day
Sunday, December 11, 2022 Human Rights and Peace Day is a public holiday in Kiribati
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Kiribati (Tarawa)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Kiribati