Eritrea has a total of 20 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Orthodox Christmas Day
Friday, January 7, 2022 Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Timket
Wednesday, January 19, 2022 Timket is a public holiday in Eritrea
Women's Day
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 Women's Day is a public holiday in Eritrea
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Eritrea (Asmara)
Coptic Good Friday
Friday, April 22, 2022 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Coptic Easter
Sunday, April 24, 2022 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
International Workers' Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 International Workers' Day is a public holiday in Eritrea
Eid al-Fitr
Monday, May 2, 2022 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Independence Day
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in Eritrea
Martyrs' Day
Monday, June 20, 2022 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Eritrea
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Eritrea (Asmara)
Eid al-Adha
Saturday, July 9, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Commencement Day of Eritrean Armed Struggle
Thursday, September 1, 2022 Commencement Day of Eritrean Armed Struggle is a public holiday in Eritrea
Geez New Year
Sunday, September 11, 2022 Geez New Year is a public holiday in Eritrea
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Eritrea (Asmara)
Meskel
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 Meskel is a public holiday in Eritrea
The Prophet's Birthday
Saturday, October 8, 2022 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Eritrea (Asmara)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.