Egypt has a total of 29 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
January 1 Bank Holiday
Saturday, January 1, 2022 January 1 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Egypt
Coptic Christmas Day
Friday, January 7, 2022 Coptic Christmas Day is a national holiday in Egypt
Revolution Day January 25
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 Revolution Day January 25 is a national holiday in Egypt
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Egypt (Cairo)
Coptic Good Friday
Friday, April 22, 2022 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Coptic Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 23, 2022 The Saturday before Easter Sunday is also known as Holy Saturday for many Orthodox churches worldwide.
Coptic Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 24, 2022 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Spring Festival
Monday, April 25, 2022 Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Sinai Liberation Day
Monday, April 25, 2022 Sinai Liberation Day is a national holiday in Egypt
Labor Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid el Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid el Fitr Holiday
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 Eid el Fitr Holiday is a national holiday in Egypt
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Egypt (Cairo)
June 30 Revolution
Thursday, June 30, 2022 June 30 Revolution is a national holiday in Egypt
July 1 Bank Holiday
Friday, July 1, 2022 July 1 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Egypt
Arafat Day
Saturday, July 9, 2022 Arafat Day is a national holiday in Egypt
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha Day 2
Monday, July 11, 2022 Eid al-Adha Day 2 is a national holiday in Egypt
Eid al-Adha Day 3
Tuesday, July 12, 2022 Eid al-Adha Day 3 is a national holiday in Egypt
Eid al-Adha Day 4
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 Eid al-Adha Day 4 is a bank holiday in Egypt
Revolution Day July 23
Saturday, July 23, 2022 Revolution Day July 23 is a national holiday in Egypt
Muharram
Saturday, July 30, 2022 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Ashura
Monday, August 8, 2022 Ashura is a observance in Egypt
Flooding of the Nile
Monday, August 15, 2022 Flooding of the Nile is a observance in Egypt
Nayrouz
Sunday, September 11, 2022 Nayrouz is a observance in Egypt
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Egypt (Cairo)
Armed Forces Day
Thursday, October 6, 2022 Armed Forces Day is a national holiday in Egypt
Prophet Mohamed's Birthday
Saturday, October 8, 2022 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Egypt (Cairo)