Brazil has a total of 29 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Carnival Friday
Friday, February 25, 2022 Carnival Friday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Saturday
Saturday, February 26, 2022 Carnival Saturday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Sunday
Sunday, February 27, 2022 Carnival Sunday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Monday
Monday, February 28, 2022 Carnival Monday is a government holiday in Brazil
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Carnival end (until 2pm)
Wednesday, March 2, 2022 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Brazil (Brasilia)
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Tiradentes Day
Thursday, April 21, 2022 Tiradentes Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Labor Day / May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 8, 2022 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Brazilian Valentine's Day
Sunday, June 12, 2022 Brazilian Valentine's Day is a observance in Brazil
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 16, 2022 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Brazil (Brasilia)
Father's Day
Sunday, August 14, 2022 Father's Day is a observance in Brazil
Independence Day
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 Independence Day is a national holiday in Brazil
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Brazil (Brasilia)
Our Lady of Aparecida / Children's Day
Wednesday, October 12, 2022 Our Lady of Aparecida / Children's Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Teacher's Day
Saturday, October 15, 2022 Teacher's Day is a observance in Brazil
Public Service Holiday
Friday, October 28, 2022 Public Service Holiday is a government holiday in Brazil
All Souls' Day
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Republic Proclamation Day
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 Republic Proclamation Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Black Consciousness Day
Sunday, November 20, 2022 Black Consciousness Day is a observance in Brazil
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Brazil (Brasilia)
Christmas Eve (from 2pm)
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve (from 2pm)
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.