Costa Rica has a total of 23 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Saint Joseph's Day
Friday, March 19, 2021 Saint Joseph's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 1, 2021 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Battle of Rivas
Sunday, April 11, 2021 Battle of Rivas is a national holiday in Costa Rica
Labor Day / May Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 20, 2021 Father's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Annexation of Guanacaste
Sunday, July 25, 2021 Annexation of Guanacaste is a observance in Costa Rica
Our Lady of Los Ángeles
Monday, August 2, 2021 Our Lady of Los Ángeles is a non compulsory payment holiday in Costa Rica
Mother's Day
Sunday, August 15, 2021 Mother's Day is a national holiday in Costa Rica
National Parks Day
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 National Parks Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Children's Day
Thursday, September 9, 2021 Children's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Independence Day
Monday, September 13, 2021 Independence Day is a national holiday in Costa Rica
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Costa Rica (San Jose)
All Souls' Day
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Teacher's Day
Monday, November 22, 2021 Teacher's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Day of Abolition of the Army
Monday, November 29, 2021 Day of Abolition of the Army is a non compulsory payment holiday in Costa Rica
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Wednesday, December 8, 2021 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.