Uruguay has a total of 22 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
The Three Wise Men Day
Wednesday, January 6, 2021 The Three Wise Men Day is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Carnival / Shrove Monday
Monday, February 15, 2021 Carnival / Shrove Monday is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 1, 2021 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Landing of the 33 orientals
Monday, April 19, 2021 Landing of the 33 orientals is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Labor Day / May Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Battle of Las Piedras
Tuesday, May 18, 2021 Battle of Las Piedras is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
José Artigas' Birthday Memorial
Saturday, June 19, 2021 José Artigas' Birthday Memorial is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Constitution Day
Sunday, July 18, 2021 Constitution Day is a national holiday in Uruguay
Independence Day
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 Independence Day is a national holiday in Uruguay
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Day of cultural diversity
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Day of cultural diversity is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
All Souls' Day
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.