Uganda has a total of 21 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Liberation Day
Tuesday, January 26, 2021 Liberation Day is a public holiday in Uganda
Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum is a public holiday in Uganda
International Women's Day
Monday, March 8, 2021 International Women's Day is a public holiday in Uganda
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Uganda (Mexico City)
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labour Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Eid al-Fitr
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Martyr's Day
Thursday, June 3, 2021 Martyr's Day is a public holiday in Uganda
National Heroes Day
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 National Heroes Day is a public holiday in Uganda
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Uganda (Mexico City)
Father's Day
Monday, June 21, 2021 Father's Day is a observance in Uganda
Eid al-Adha
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Uganda (Mexico City)
Independence Day
Saturday, October 9, 2021 Independence Day is a public holiday in Uganda
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Uganda (Mexico City)
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Uganda