Tanzania, United Republic of has a total of 24 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Zanzibar Revolution Day
Tuesday, January 12, 2021 Zanzibar Revolution Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Karume Day
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 Karume Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Union Day
Monday, April 26, 2021 Union Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Worker's Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Worker's Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Eid el Fitri
Friday, May 14, 2021 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid el Fitri Holiday
Saturday, May 15, 2021 Eid el Fitri Holiday is a public holiday in Tanzania
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Saba Saba
Wednesday, July 7, 2021 Saba Saba is a public holiday in Tanzania
Eid al-Adha
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Farmers' Day
Sunday, August 8, 2021 Farmers' Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Mwalimu Nyerere Day
Thursday, October 14, 2021 Mwalimu Nyerere Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Maulid
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Independence Day
Thursday, December 9, 2021 Independence Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Tanzania