Tonga has a total of 20 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Tonga (Nukualofa)
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
ANZAC Day
Sunday, April 25, 2021 ANZAC Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Emancipation Day
Friday, June 4, 2021 Emancipation Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Day off for Emancipation Day
Monday, June 7, 2021 Emancipation Day is a public holiday in Tonga
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Tonga (Nukualofa)
Birthday of His Majesty King Tupou VI
Sunday, July 4, 2021 Birthday of His Majesty King Tupou VI is a public holiday in Tonga
Day off for Birthday of His Majesty King Tupou VI
Monday, July 5, 2021 Birthday of His Majesty King Tupou VI is a public holiday in Tonga
Birthday of Crown Prince Tupouto'a-'Ulukalala
Friday, September 17, 2021 Birthday of Crown Prince Tupouto'a-'Ulukalala is a public holiday in Tonga
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Tonga (Nukualofa)
Constitution Day
Thursday, November 4, 2021 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Day off for Constitution Day
Monday, November 8, 2021 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Anniversary of the Coronation of King Tupou I
Saturday, December 4, 2021 Anniversary of the Coronation of King Tupou I is a public holiday in Tonga
Day off for Anniversary of the Coronation of King Tupou I
Monday, December 6, 2021 Anniversary of the Coronation of King Tupou I is a public holiday in Tonga
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Tonga (Nukualofa)
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Day off for Boxing Day
Monday, December 27, 2021 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Tonga