Russian Federation has a total of 29 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 Russians celebrate New Year’s Day in accordance with the Gregorian calendar on January 1.
New Year Holiday
Monday, January 4, 2021 New Year Holiday is a national holiday in Russia
Orthodox Christmas Day
Thursday, January 7, 2021 Many Russians celebrate Christmas Day on January 7 in the Gregorian calendar, which corresponds to December 25 in the Julian calendar.
New Year Holiday
Friday, January 8, 2021 New Year Holiday is a national holiday in Russia
Old New Year
Thursday, January 14, 2021 Old New Year is a observance in Russia
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Defender of the Fatherland Day
Tuesday, February 23, 2021 Many Russians celebrate Defender of the Fatherland Day on February 23, when they honor military forces and veterans.
Special Operations Forces Day
Saturday, February 27, 2021 Special Operations Forces Day in Russia falls on February 27.
International Women's Day
Monday, March 8, 2021 Many Russians pay tribute to women’s role in Russian society by celebrating International Women’s Day on March 8.
Isra and Mi'raj
Thursday, March 11, 2021 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Russia (Moscow)
Ramadan starts
Tuesday, April 13, 2021 Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Spring and Labor Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 For many Russians, Spring and Labor Day, which falls on May 1, is a family holiday and a time for relaxation.
Orthodox Easter Day
Sunday, May 2, 2021 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Day off for Spring and Labor Day
Monday, May 3, 2021 For many Russians, Spring and Labor Day, which falls on May 1, is a family holiday and a time for relaxation.
Lailat al-Qadr
Saturday, May 8, 2021 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Victory Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 One of the biggest Russian holidays, Victory Day, marks Germany’s surrender to the Soviet Union in 1945, ending one of the bloodiest wars in Russia’s history.
Day off for Victory Day
Monday, May 10, 2021 One of the biggest Russian holidays, Victory Day, marks Germany’s surrender to the Soviet Union in 1945, ending one of the bloodiest wars in Russia’s history.
Eid al-Fitr
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Russia Day
Saturday, June 12, 2021 Russia Day, annually celebrated on June 12, marks the beginning of democratic reforms in Russia and is one of the newest holidays in the Russian Federation.
Day off for Russia Day
Monday, June 14, 2021 Russia Day, annually celebrated on June 12, marks the beginning of democratic reforms in Russia and is one of the newest holidays in the Russian Federation.
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Russia (Moscow)
Eid al-Adha
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Muharram
Tuesday, August 10, 2021 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Day of Knowledge
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 Day of Knowledge is a observance in Russia
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Russia (Moscow)
The Prophet's Birthday
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Unity Day
Thursday, November 4, 2021 Unity Day, which is on November 4, is one of the newest and the most controversial holidays in Russia.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Russia (Moscow)