Norway has a total of 47 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 January 1 is a day off for most people in Norway.
Princess Ingrid Alexandra's day
Thursday, January 21, 2021 Princess Ingrid Alexandra of Norway's birthday is a flag day, when the Norwegian flag is flown on all flag poles.
The Saami people's day
Saturday, February 6, 2021 The Saami People's Day is publicly celebrated in Norway by flying the Norwegian and Saami flags.
Carnival
Sunday, February 14, 2021 For Carnival, Norwegians traditionally serve wheat buns filled with whipped cream.
Mother's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Mother's Day is on the second Sunday in February in Norway.
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
King Harald V's day
Sunday, February 21, 2021 King Harald V of Norway's birthday is a flag day.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Norway (Oslo)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 28, 2021 Daylight Saving Time starts in Norway
Palm Sunday
Sunday, March 28, 2021 Palm Sunday is the Sunday before Easter Sunday and commemorates Jesus' arrival in Jerusalem.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 1, 2021 Maundy Thursday commemorates Jesus Christ’s last supper with his disciples.
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday commemorates Jesus Christ’s Passion, crucifixion, and death.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 3, 2021 Holy Saturday is also known as Easter Saturday, and is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday is a day off for most in Norway.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday in Norway is the last day of the Easter holiday.
Labor day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day or May Day on May 1 is a public holiday day in Norway.
Day of liberation
Saturday, May 8, 2021 Liberation Day in Norway marks the end of the German occupation during the second World War.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 13, 2021
17 May Constitution Day (1814)
Monday, May 17, 2021 17 May Constitution Day (1814) is a national holiday and flag day in Norway
Pentecost Eve
Saturday, May 22, 2021 Pentecost Eve is not a public holiday in Norway, but shops close earlier than normal.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 23, 2021 Whit Sunday or Pentecost is a public holiday in Norway.
Whit Monday
Monday, May 24, 2021 Whit Monday is a public holiday in Norway, making the Pentecost weekend a long weekend.
Dissolution of union with Sweden (1905)
Monday, June 7, 2021 Dissolution of union with Sweden (1905) is a flag day in Norway
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Norway (Oslo)
Midsummer Eve
Wednesday, June 23, 2021 Traditionally, people celebrate Midsummer's Eve by gathering around a large bonfire.
St. John's day
Thursday, June 24, 2021 St. John's day is a observance in Norway
Queen Sonja's day
Sunday, July 4, 2021 H.M. Queen Sonja of Norway's birthday is a flag day, when the Norwegian flag is flown on all flag poles.
Crown Prince Haakon's day
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 July 20 is H.K.H. Crown Prince Haakon birthday and a flag day in Norway.
St. Olaf's day
Thursday, July 29, 2021 St. Olaf's day is a flag day in Norway
Crown Princess Mette-Marit's day
Thursday, August 19, 2021 August 19 is Crown Princess Mette Marit 's birthday is a flag day in Norway.
Election day
Monday, September 13, 2021
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Norway (Oslo)
United Nations Day
Sunday, October 24, 2021 The UN Day is on October 24 and is mainly marked in schools and kindergartens in Norway.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 31, 2021 Daylight Saving Time ends in Norway
Halloween
Sunday, October 31, 2021 On Halloween, more and more Norwegian kids dress up in costumes to go trick or treating.
Repentance Day
Sunday, October 31, 2021 Repentance Day is a observance in Norway
All Saints' Day
Sunday, November 7, 2021 All Saints' Day is a observance in Norway
Father's Day
Sunday, November 14, 2021 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, November 28, 2021
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 5, 2021 Second Advent Sunday is a observance in Norway
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 12, 2021 Third Advent Sunday is a observance in Norway
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 19, 2021 Fourth Advent Sunday is a observance in Norway
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Norway (Oslo)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Norwegians exchange gifts and get together for the main Christmas celebrations on December 24.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Boxing Day on December 26 is a public holiday in Norway
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.