Netherlands has a total of 22 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year's Day (nieuwjaarsdag, oud en nieuw) is the first day of a new calendar year. In the Netherlands, it always falls on January 1.
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in the Netherlands (Amsterdam)
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is the Friday before Easter Sunday in the Netherlands.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 On Easter Sunday (paaszondag, pasen) many Christians in the Netherlands celebrate the resurrection of Jesus after his crucifixion.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday (tweede paasdag) in the Netherlands is the day after Easter Sunday.
King's Birthday
Tuesday, April 27, 2021 The King’s official birthday in the Netherlands is a festive occasion that is annually celebrated on April 27.
Remembrance Day
Tuesday, May 4, 2021 Remembrance Day in the Netherlands commemorates Dutch civilians and soldiers who lost their lives in war and during peace-keeping missions.
Liberation Day
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 Liberation Day in the Netherlands celebrates the end of World War II in Europe.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Ascension Day (hemelvaart) in the Netherlands is the 40th day of Easter and ten days before Pentecost.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 23, 2021 Pentecost (Pinksteren) in the Netherlands is seven weeks after Easter Sunday. It commemorates the Holy Spirit's descent from heaven onto Jesus' followers.
Whit Monday
Monday, May 24, 2021 The second day of Pentecost (tweede pinksterdag) in the Netherlands is on a Monday seven weeks after Easter Monday.
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in the Netherlands (Amsterdam)
Keti Koti
Thursday, July 1, 2021 Keti Koti is a observance in the Netherlands
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in the Netherlands (Amsterdam)
St Nicholas' Eve/Sinterklaas
Sunday, December 5, 2021 St Nicholas’ Eve honors a Christian saint who is associated with gift-giving. It is a festive celebration in the Netherlands on December 5.
St Nicholas' Day
Monday, December 6, 2021 St. Nicholas’ Day honors a Christian saint who is associated with gift-giving. It is a festive celebration in the Netherlands on December 5–6.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in the Netherlands (Amsterdam)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve in the Netherlands is the start of the Dutch Christmas holidays.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day (kerst, kerstmis) is a public holiday in the Netherlands that commemorates Jesus Christ's birth. It always falls on December 25.
Second Day of Christmas
Sunday, December 26, 2021 The second day of Christmas is a holiday for many people in the Netherlands. It always falls on December 26.
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is one of the most exciting times in The Netherlands, farewelling the Old Year and celebrating the New Year.