Guatemala has a total of 23 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Guatemala (Guatemala City)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 1, 2021 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Saturday
Saturday, April 3, 2021 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Labor Day Holiday
Monday, May 3, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Guatemala (Guatemala City)
Army Day Holiday
Monday, June 28, 2021 Army Day Holiday is a national holiday in Guatemala
Army Day
Wednesday, June 30, 2021 Army Day is a observance in Guatemala
Assumption of Mary (Guatemala City only)
Sunday, August 15, 2021 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Independence Day
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 Independence Day is a national holiday in Guatemala
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Guatemala (Guatemala City)
Dia de la raza
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Dia de la raza is a bank holiday in Guatemala
Revolution of 1944
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 Revolution of 1944 is a national holiday in Guatemala
All Saints' Day
Monday, November 1, 2021 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Guatemala (Guatemala City)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Boxing Day is a half day holiday in Guatemala
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.