Gambia has a total of 17 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Independence Day
Thursday, February 18, 2021 Independence Day is a public holiday in The Gambia
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in The Gambia (Banjul)
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labour Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Lailat al-Qadr
Saturday, May 8, 2021 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Eid al-Fitr
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Africa Day
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 Africa Day is a public holiday in The Gambia
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in The Gambia (Banjul)
Eid al-Adha
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Assumption of Mary
Sunday, August 15, 2021 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Ashura
Thursday, August 19, 2021 Ashura is a public holiday in The Gambia
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in The Gambia (Banjul)
The Prophet's Birthday
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in The Gambia (Banjul)
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.