Ghana has a total of 27 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Constitution Day
Thursday, January 7, 2021 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Ghana
Independence Day
Saturday, March 6, 2021 Independence Day is a public holiday in Ghana
Independence Day observed
Monday, March 8, 2021 Independence Day is a public holiday in Ghana
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Ghana (Accra)
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 3, 2021 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
May Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
May Day observed
Monday, May 3, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Eid ul-Fitr
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Fathers' Day
Sunday, June 20, 2021 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Ghana (Accra)
Eid al-Adha
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Founders' Day
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 Founders' Day is a public holiday in Ghana
Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Day
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Day is a public holiday in Ghana
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Ghana (Accra)
Farmer's Day
Friday, December 3, 2021 Farmer's Day is a public holiday in Ghana
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Ghana (Accra)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Ghana
Day off for Christmas Day
Monday, December 27, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 28, 2021 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Ghana
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.