Cape Verde has a total of 15 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Democracy Day
Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Democracy Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
National Heroes' Day
Wednesday, January 20, 2021 National Heroes' Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Labour Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Children's Day
Tuesday, June 1, 2021 Children's Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
Father's Day
Sunday, June 20, 2021 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Independence Day
Monday, July 5, 2021 Independence Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
Assumption of Mary
Sunday, August 15, 2021 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Cabo Verde (Praia)
All Saints' Day
Monday, November 1, 2021 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.