Brazil has a total of 29 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Carnival Friday
Friday, February 12, 2021 Carnival Friday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Saturday
Saturday, February 13, 2021 Carnival Saturday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Sunday
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Carnival Sunday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Monday
Monday, February 15, 2021 Carnival Monday is a government holiday in Brazil
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Carnival end (until 2pm)
Wednesday, February 17, 2021 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Brazil (Brasilia)
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Tiradentes Day
Wednesday, April 21, 2021 Tiradentes Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Labor Day / May Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 3, 2021 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
Brazilian Valentine's Day
Saturday, June 12, 2021 Brazilian Valentine's Day is a observance in Brazil
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Brazil (Brasilia)
Father's Day
Sunday, August 8, 2021 Father's Day is a observance in Brazil
Independence Day
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 Independence Day is a national holiday in Brazil
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Brazil (Brasilia)
Our Lady of Aparecida / Children's Day
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Our Lady of Aparecida / Children's Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Teacher's Day
Friday, October 15, 2021 Teacher's Day is a observance in Brazil
Public Service Holiday
Thursday, October 28, 2021 Public Service Holiday is a government holiday in Brazil
All Souls' Day
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Republic Proclamation Day
Monday, November 15, 2021 Republic Proclamation Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Black Consciousness Day
Saturday, November 20, 2021 Black Consciousness Day is a observance in Brazil
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Brazil (Brasilia)
Christmas Eve (from 2pm)
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve (from 2pm)
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.