South Africa has a total of 40 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is celebrated with a blend of both diversity and tradition in countries such as South Africa on January 1 each year.
Maha Shivaratri
Friday, February 21, 2020 Maha Shivaratri is a Hindu holiday in South Africa
Holi
Monday, March 9, 2020 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in South Africa (Johannesburg)
Human Rights Day
Saturday, March 21, 2020 Human Rights Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Isra and Mi'raj
Sunday, March 22, 2020 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Family Day
Monday, April 13, 2020 Family Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Freedom Day
Monday, April 27, 2020 Freedom Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Workers' Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Eid ul Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Pentecost
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Youth Day
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 Youth Day is a public holiday in South Africa
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in South Africa (Johannesburg)
Father's Day
Sunday, June 21, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Nelson Mandela Day
Saturday, July 18, 2020 Nelson Mandela Day is a observance in South Africa
Eid ul Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Raksha Bandhan
Monday, August 3, 2020 Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu holiday in South Africa
National Women's Day
Sunday, August 9, 2020 National Women's Day is a public holiday in South Africa
National Women's Day observed
Monday, August 10, 2020 National Women's Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Janmashtami
Tuesday, August 11, 2020 Janmashtami is a Hindu holiday in South Africa
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Thursday, August 20, 2020 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Ganesh Chaturthi
Saturday, August 22, 2020 Ganesh Chaturthi is a Hindu holiday in South Africa
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in South Africa (Johannesburg)
Heritage Day
Thursday, September 24, 2020 Heritage Day is a public holiday in South Africa
Navaratri
Saturday, October 17, 2020 Navaratri is a Hindu holiday in South Africa
Dussehra
Sunday, October 25, 2020 Dussehra is a Hindu holiday in South Africa
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
All Saints' Day
Sunday, November 1, 2020 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Day of Reconciliation
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 Day of Reconciliation is a public holiday in South Africa
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in South Africa (Johannesburg)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Day of Goodwill
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Day of Goodwill is a public holiday in South Africa
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.