Tanzania, United Republic of has a total of 23 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Zanzibar Revolution Day
Sunday, January 12, 2020 Zanzibar Revolution Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Karume Day
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Karume Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Union Day
Sunday, April 26, 2020 Union Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Worker's Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 Worker's Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Eid el Fitri
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Saba Saba
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 Saba Saba is a public holiday in Tanzania
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Farmers' Day
Saturday, August 8, 2020 Farmers' Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Mwalimu Nyerere Day
Wednesday, October 14, 2020 Mwalimu Nyerere Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Maulid
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Independence Day
Wednesday, December 9, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Tanzania