Tonga has a total of 18 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Tonga (Nukualofa)
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
ANZAC Day
Saturday, April 25, 2020 ANZAC Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Emancipation Day
Thursday, June 4, 2020 Emancipation Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Day off for Emancipation Day
Monday, June 8, 2020 Emancipation Day is a public holiday in Tonga
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Tonga (Nukualofa)
Birthday of His Majesty King Tupou VI
Saturday, July 4, 2020 Birthday of His Majesty King Tupou VI is a public holiday in Tonga
Birthday of Crown Prince Tupouto'a-'Ulukalala
Thursday, September 17, 2020 Birthday of Crown Prince Tupouto'a-'Ulukalala is a public holiday in Tonga
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Tonga (Nukualofa)
Day off for Constitution Day
Monday, November 2, 2020 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Constitution Day
Wednesday, November 4, 2020 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Tonga
Anniversary of the Coronation of King Tupou I
Friday, December 4, 2020 Anniversary of the Coronation of King Tupou I is a public holiday in Tonga
Day off for Anniversary of the Coronation of King Tupou I
Monday, December 7, 2020 Anniversary of the Coronation of King Tupou I is a public holiday in Tonga
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Tonga (Nukualofa)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Tonga