Syrian Arab Republic has a total of 22 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Syria (Aleppo)
Mothers' Day
Saturday, March 21, 2020 Mothers' Day is a public holiday in Syria
Daylight Saving Time starts
Thursday, March 26, 2020 Daylight Saving Time starts in Syria
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Independence Day
Friday, April 17, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Syria
Orthodox Easter Day
Sunday, April 19, 2020 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Martyrs' Day
Wednesday, May 6, 2020 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Syria
Eid al-Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Syria (Aleppo)
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha holiday
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Eid al-Adha holiday is a government holiday in Syria
Armed Forces Day
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Armed Forces Day is a observance in Syria
Eid al-Adha holiday
Sunday, August 2, 2020 Eid al-Adha holiday is a government holiday in Syria
Muharram
Thursday, August 20, 2020 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Syria (Aleppo)
October Liberation Day
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 October Liberation Day is a public holiday in Syria
Daylight Saving Time ends
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Daylight Saving Time ends in Syria
The Prophet's Birthday
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Syria (Aleppo)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.