South Sudan has a total of 21 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Peace Agreement Day
Thursday, January 9, 2020 Peace Agreement Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
International Women's Day
Sunday, March 8, 2020 International Women's Day is a observance in South Sudan
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in South Sudan (Juba)
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
SPLA Day
Saturday, May 16, 2020 SPLA Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Eid al-Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 14, 2020 Father's Day is a observance in South Sudan
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in South Sudan (Juba)
Mother's Day
Monday, July 6, 2020 Mother's Day is a observance in South Sudan
Independence Day
Thursday, July 9, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Martyrs Day
Thursday, July 30, 2020 Martyrs Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in South Sudan (Juba)
Grandparents' Day
Sunday, November 8, 2020 Grandparents' Day is a observance in South Sudan
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in South Sudan (Juba)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Republic Day
Monday, December 28, 2020 Republic Day is a observance in South Sudan
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.