Senegal has a total of 21 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Senegal (Dakar)
Independence Day
Saturday, April 4, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Senegal
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labour Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Korité
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 1, 2020 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Senegal (Dakar)
Father's Day
Sunday, June 21, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Tabaski
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Assumption of Mary
Saturday, August 15, 2020 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Tamkharit
Saturday, August 29, 2020 Tamkharit is a public holiday in Senegal
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Senegal (Dakar)
Grand Magal de Touba
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 Grand Magal de Touba is a public holiday in Senegal
Maouloud
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
All Saints' Day
Sunday, November 1, 2020 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
All Saints' Day observed
Monday, November 2, 2020 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Senegal (Dakar)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.