Rwanda has a total of 22 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Day After New Year's Day
Thursday, January 2, 2020
National Heroes' Day
Saturday, February 1, 2020
National Heroes' Day observed
Monday, February 3, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020
Tutsi Genocide Memorial Day
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday, April 10, 2020
Labor Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Friday, May 1, 2020
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Sunday, May 24, 2020
Eid al-Fitr observed
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Monday, May 25, 2020
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Independence Day
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Liberation Day
Saturday, July 4, 2020
Liberation Day observed
Monday, July 6, 2020
Umuganura Day
Friday, August 7, 2020
Assumption Day
Saturday, August 15, 2020
Assumption Day observed
Monday, August 17, 2020
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Friday, December 25, 2020
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020
Boxing Day observed
Monday, December 28, 2020