Malta has a total of 21 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Feast of Saint Paul's Shipwreck
Monday, February 10, 2020 Feast of Saint Paul's Shipwreck is a public holiday in Malta
Feast of Saint Joseph
Thursday, March 19, 2020 Feast of Saint Joseph is a public holiday in Malta
Freedom Day
Tuesday, March 31, 2020 Freedom Day is a national holiday in Malta
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Bank Holiday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Malta
Labour Day/May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Sette Giugno
Sunday, June 7, 2020 Sette Giugno is a national holiday in Malta
Feast of Saints Peter and Paul
Monday, June 29, 2020 Feast of Saints Peter and Paul is a public holiday in Malta
The Feast of Mary's Assumption
Saturday, August 15, 2020 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
The Feast of Our Lady of Victories
Tuesday, September 8, 2020 The Feast of Our Lady of Victories is a national holiday in Malta
Independence Day
Monday, September 21, 2020 Independence Day is a national holiday in Malta
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Republic Day
Sunday, December 13, 2020 Republic Day is a national holiday in Malta
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day is a observance in Malta
Bank Holiday
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Malta
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.