Mauritania has a total of 12 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Mauritania (Nouakchott)
Labor Day / May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid ul Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Africa Day
Monday, May 25, 2020 Africa Day is a public holiday in Mauritania
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Mauritania (Nouakchott)
Eid ul Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Friday, August 21, 2020 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Mauritania (Nouakchott)
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Independence Day
Saturday, November 28, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Mauritania
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Mauritania (Nouakchott)