Democratic People's Republic of Korea has a total of 21 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Lunar New Year's Day
Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Cheongwoldaeboreum
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Birth date of Kim Jong Il
Sunday, February 16, 2020
International Women's Day
Sunday, March 8, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020
Birth Date of Kim Il Sung
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Chosun People's Army Foundation Day
Saturday, April 25, 2020
May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Friday, May 1, 2020
Chosun Children's Union Foundation Day
Saturday, June 6, 2020
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Day of Victory in the Fatherland Liberation War
Monday, July 27, 2020
Liberation Day
Saturday, August 15, 2020
Day of Songun
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
National Day
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Chuseok Harvest Festival
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Party Foundation Day
Saturday, October 10, 2020
Mother's Day
Monday, November 16, 2020
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020
Constitution Day
Sunday, December 27, 2020