Jordan has a total of 28 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Jordan (Amman)
Al Isra' wal Miraj
Saturday, March 21, 2020 Al Isra' wal Miraj is a observance in Jordan
Public Holiday
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 Public Holiday is a work suspension (covid-19) in Jordan
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 5, 2020 Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Public Holiday
Sunday, April 5, 2020 Public Holiday is a work suspension (covid-19) in Jordan
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Public Holiday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Public Holiday is a work suspension (covid-19) in Jordan
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Public Holiday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Public Holiday is a work suspension (covid-19) in Jordan
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Public Holiday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Public Holiday is a work suspension (covid-19) in Jordan
Orthodox Easter Day
Sunday, April 19, 2020 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 20, 2020 Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Ramadan begins
Friday, April 24, 2020 Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Labour Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Independence Day
Monday, May 25, 2020 Independence Day is a national holiday in Jordan
Eid al-Fitr holiday
Monday, May 25, 2020 Eid al-Fitr holiday is a national holiday in Jordan
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Jordan (Amman)
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha holiday
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Eid al-Adha holiday is a national holiday in Jordan
Muharram/New Year
Thursday, August 20, 2020 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Jordan (Amman)
Prophet's Birthday
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Jordan (Amman)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day is a optional holiday in Jordan