Spain has a total of 63 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Reconquest Day
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Epiphany
Epiphany is a public holiday and the day most Christmas presentes are exchanged in Spain.
Monday, January 6, 2020
St. Valero's Feast
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Friday, February 14, 2020
Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Day of Andalucía
The Day of Andalucía, also known as Andalucía Day, is an annual public holiday in the Andalucía autonomous community in Spain on February 28.
Friday, February 28, 2020
Day of the Balearic Islands
The Day of the Balearic Islands is held on March 1 to remember the date when the Balearic Islands' Statute of Autonomy came into effect. It is a local public holiday in this area in Spain.
Sunday, March 1, 2020
Fifth of March
Thursday, March 5, 2020
San Jose
Saint Joseph's Day honors St Joseph, the Virgin Mary's spouse. It is a public holiday in some parts of Spain on March 19 each year.
Thursday, March 19, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 29, 2020
Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday is a Christian feast that commemorates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week.
Sunday, April 5, 2020
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday, April 10, 2020
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday, April 12, 2020
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday, April 13, 2020
Day of Aragón
The Day of Aragon celebrates the Spanish region of Aragon's culture and history. It is an annual local public holiday on April 23.
Thursday, April 23, 2020
St George's Day
St George's Day is an occasion for people in Catalonia to give loved ones a rose and a book.
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Castile and León Day
Castile and León Day is celebrated in the Spanish autonomous community of Castile and León on April 23 every year.
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Friday, May 1, 2020
Day of Madrid
The Day of the Autonomous Community of Madrid, Spain, marks the anniversary of an uprising against French troops in Madrid. It is an annual local public holiday on May 2.
Saturday, May 2, 2020
Mothers' Day
One of Spain’s most popular and festive family occasions is Mothers’ Day on the first Sunday in May.
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Feast Day of St Isidore
Friday, May 15, 2020
Galicia Literature Day
Galician Literature Day is a local public holiday annually celebrated in autonomous community of Galicia in Spain on May 17. It commemorates writers who wrote in the Galician language.
Sunday, May 17, 2020
Day of the Canary Islands
The Day of the Canary Islands marks the anniversary of the autonomous Canary Islands Parliament's first session. It is a local public holiday on the Canary Islands on May 30 each year.
Saturday, May 30, 2020
Day of Castile-La Mancha
The Day of the Region of Castilla-La Mancha marks the anniversary of when Castilla-La Mancha's first regional courts were opened. It is an annual public holiday in this Spanish region on May 31.
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Whit Sunday/Pentecost
Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Whit Monday
Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Monday, June 1, 2020
Day of Murcia
The Day of the Region of Murcia marks the anniversary of when the autonomy of Murcia's statutes was approved. It is an annual public holiday in Murcia, Spain, on June 9.
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Day of La Rioja
The Day of La Rioja is an annual public holiday in the Spanish autonomous community of La Rioja on June 9.
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
Thursday, June 11, 2020
San Antonio
The Day of Saint Anthony of Padua marks the anniversary of St Anthony's death. It is a local public holiday in Ceuta, Spain, on June 13 each year.
Saturday, June 13, 2020
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Saint John the Baptist Day
Saint John the Baptist Day is annually held on June 24 to honor the life of St John, an early Christian saint. It is a public holiday in Catalonia, Spain.
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Feast of Saint James the Apostle
Saint James' Day is an occasion to honor the life and deeds of one of Jesus' disciples. It is a public holiday in the autonomous communities of the Basque Country and Galicia in Spain on July 25.
Saturday, July 25, 2020
Day of the Institutions
The Day of the Institutions of Cantabria marks the anniversary of the creation of the Cantabria province.
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Friday, July 31, 2020
The Day of Our Lady of Africa
The Day of Our Lady of Africa honors the patron saint of the city of Ceuta. It is a public holiday in this Spanish city on August 5.
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
The Day of Cantabria
The Day of Cantabria celebrates the history, culture and language of the Cantabrian region of Spain. It is annually held on the second Sunday of August.
Sunday, August 9, 2020
Assumption of Mary
The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
Saturday, August 15, 2020
Day of the Independent City of Ceuta
The Day of Ceuta is celebrated as a local public holiday in the city of Ceuta in Spain on September 2 each year. This date commemorates when Pedro de Menezes (Meneses) took control of Ceuta.
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Day of Asturias
The Day of Asturias commemorates the Virgin of Covadonga and the Battle of Covadonga. It is an annual local public holiday in the autonomous community of Asturias in Spain on September 8.
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Day of Extremadura
The Day of Extremadura marks the anniversary of the Virgin Mary's birth. It is a local public holiday in Extremadura, Spain, on September 8.
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Virgin of the Victory
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Day of Catalonia
The Day of Catalonia commemorates the end of the siege of Barcelona in 1714. It is a local public holiday in Barcelona, Spain, on September 11.
Friday, September 11, 2020
Nuestra Señora de la Bien Aparecida
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Day of Melilla
The Day of Melilla marks the anniversary of the storming of the city in 1497 and is a public holiday in Melilla, Spain.
Thursday, September 17, 2020
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Day of the Valencian Community
The Day of the Valencian Community is a local public holiday in Valencia, Spain, on October 9 each year. It celebrates Valencian culture and history.
Friday, October 9, 2020
Hispanic Day
Hispanic Day marks the anniversary of the date that Christopher Columbus first set foot in the Americas. It is a public holiday in Spain on October 12.
Monday, October 12, 2020
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 25, 2020
All Saints' Day
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Sunday, November 1, 2020
All Saints' Day observed
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Monday, November 2, 2020
Day of Navarre
People celebrate the culture of the Navarre region in Spain and life of Saint Francis Xavier on the Day of Navarre. It is an annual local public holiday in this region on December 3.
Thursday, December 3, 2020
Constitution Day
Constitution Day marks the anniversary of the referendum to approve the Spanish Constitution and is a public holiday in Spain.
Sunday, December 6, 2020
Immaculate Conception
The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
Tuesday, December 8, 2020
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, December 24, 2020
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Friday, December 25, 2020
St Stephen's Day
The Feast of St Stephen is a holiday to commemorate the life and death of an early Christian saint.
Saturday, December 26, 2020
Feast of the Holy Family
Sunday, December 27, 2020
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, December 31, 2020