Eritrea has a total of 20 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Orthodox Christmas Day
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Timket
Monday, January 20, 2020 Timket is a public holiday in Eritrea
Women's Day
Sunday, March 8, 2020 Women's Day is a public holiday in Eritrea
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Eritrea (Asmara)
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
International Workers' Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 International Workers' Day is a public holiday in Eritrea
Eid al-Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Independence Day
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Eritrea
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Eritrea (Asmara)
Martyrs' Day
Saturday, June 20, 2020 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Eritrea
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Commencement Day of Eritrean Armed Struggle
Tuesday, September 1, 2020 Commencement Day of Eritrean Armed Struggle is a public holiday in Eritrea
Geez New Year
Friday, September 11, 2020 Geez New Year is a public holiday in Eritrea
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Eritrea (Asmara)
Meskel
Sunday, September 27, 2020 Meskel is a public holiday in Eritrea
The Prophet's Birthday
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Eritrea (Asmara)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.