Cape Verde has a total of 15 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Democracy Day
Monday, January 13, 2020 Democracy Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
National Heroes' Day
Monday, January 20, 2020 National Heroes' Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Labour Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Children's Day
Monday, June 1, 2020 Children's Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Father's Day
Sunday, June 21, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Independence Day
Sunday, July 5, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Cabo Verde
Assumption of Mary
Saturday, August 15, 2020 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Cabo Verde (Praia)
All Saints' Day
Sunday, November 1, 2020 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Cabo Verde (Praia)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.