Costa Rica has a total of 23 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Saint Joseph's Day
Thursday, March 19, 2020 Saint Joseph's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Battle of Rivas
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Battle of Rivas is a national holiday in Costa Rica
Labor Day / May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Father's Day
Sunday, June 21, 2020 Father's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Annexation of Guanacaste
Saturday, July 25, 2020 Annexation of Guanacaste is a national holiday in Costa Rica
Our Lady of Los Ángeles
Sunday, August 2, 2020 Our Lady of Los Ángeles is a observance in Costa Rica
Mother's Day
Saturday, August 15, 2020 Mother's Day is a national holiday in Costa Rica
National Parks Day
Monday, August 24, 2020 National Parks Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Children's Day
Wednesday, September 9, 2020 Children's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Independence Day
Tuesday, September 15, 2020 Independence Day is a national holiday in Costa Rica
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Day of the Cultures
Monday, October 12, 2020 Day of the Cultures is a observance in Costa Rica
All Souls' Day
Monday, November 2, 2020 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Teacher's Day
Sunday, November 22, 2020 Teacher's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.