Brazil has a total of 29 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Carnival Friday
Friday, February 21, 2020 Carnival Friday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Saturday
Saturday, February 22, 2020 Carnival Saturday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Sunday
Sunday, February 23, 2020 Carnival Sunday is a observance in Brazil
Carnival Monday
Monday, February 24, 2020 Carnival Monday is a government holiday in Brazil
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
Carnival end (until 2pm)
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Brazil (Brasilia)
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Tiradentes Day
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 Tiradentes Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Labor Day / May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 11, 2020 Corpus Christi is a Christian feast in honor of the Holy Eucharist.
Brazilian Valentine's Day
Friday, June 12, 2020 Brazilian Valentine's Day is a observance in Brazil
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Brazil (Brasilia)
Father's Day
Sunday, August 9, 2020 Father's Day is a observance in Brazil
Independence Day
Monday, September 7, 2020 Independence Day is a national holiday in Brazil
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Brazil (Brasilia)
Our Lady of Aparecida / Children's Day
Monday, October 12, 2020 Our Lady of Aparecida / Children's Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Teacher's Day
Thursday, October 15, 2020 Teacher's Day is a observance in Brazil
Public Service Holiday
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 Public Service Holiday is a government holiday in Brazil
All Souls' Day
Monday, November 2, 2020 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Republic Proclamation Day
Sunday, November 15, 2020 Republic Proclamation Day is a national holiday in Brazil
Black Consciousness Day
Friday, November 20, 2020 Black Consciousness Day is a observance in Brazil
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Brazil (Brasilia)
Christmas Eve (from 2pm)
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve (from 2pm)
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.