Burundi has a total of 18 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Unity Day
Wednesday, February 5, 2020 Unity Day is a public holiday in Burundi
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Burundi (Bujumbura)
President Ntaryamira Day
Monday, April 6, 2020 President Ntaryamira Day is a public holiday in Burundi
Labour Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Eid ul Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Burundi (Bujumbura)
Independence Day
Wednesday, July 1, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Burundi
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Assumption of Mary
Saturday, August 15, 2020 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Burundi (Bujumbura)
Prince Louis Rwagasore Day
Tuesday, October 13, 2020 Prince Louis Rwagasore Day is a public holiday in Burundi
President Ndadaye's Day
Wednesday, October 21, 2020 President Ndadaye's Day is a public holiday in Burundi
All Saints' Day
Sunday, November 1, 2020 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
All Saints' Day observed
Monday, November 2, 2020 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Burundi (Bujumbura)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.