Bangladesh has a total of 68 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Bangabandhu Homecoming Day
Friday, January 10, 2020 Bangabandhu Homecoming Day is a observance in Bangladesh
Saraswati Puja
Wednesday, January 29, 2020 Saraswati Puja is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Maghi Purnima
Saturday, February 8, 2020 Maghi Purnima is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Maha Shivaratri
Friday, February 21, 2020 Maha Shivaratri is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Language Martyrs' Day
Friday, February 21, 2020 Language Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
National Flag Day
Monday, March 2, 2020 National Flag Day is a observance in Bangladesh
Doljatra
Monday, March 9, 2020 Doljatra is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Holi
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s birthday
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s birthday is a public holiday in Bangladesh
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Bangladesh (Dhaka)
Shab-e-Meraj
Sunday, March 22, 2020 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Independence Day
Thursday, March 26, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Public Holiday
Friday, March 27, 2020 Public Holiday is a general holiday (covid-19) in Bangladesh
Shab e-Barat
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 Shab e-Barat is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Public Holiday
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 Public Holiday is a general holiday (covid-19) in Bangladesh
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Public Holiday
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Public Holiday is a general holiday (covid-19) in Bangladesh
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Public Holiday
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Public Holiday is a general holiday (covid-19) in Bangladesh
Easter Day
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Public Holiday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Public Holiday is a general holiday (covid-19) in Bangladesh
Chaitra Sankranti
Monday, April 13, 2020 Chaitra Sankranti is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Public Holiday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Public Holiday is a general holiday (covid-19) in Bangladesh
Bengali New Year
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Bengali New Year is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Public Holiday
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Public Holiday is a general holiday (covid-19) in Bangladesh
May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Buddha Purnima/Vesak
Wednesday, May 6, 2020 Buddha Purnima/Vesak is a national holiday in Bangladesh
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Shab-e-qadr
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Jumatul Bidah
Friday, May 22, 2020 Jumatul Bidah is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Eid ul-Fitr
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
Monday, May 25, 2020 Eid ul-Fitr Holiday is a public holiday in Bangladesh
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Bangladesh (Dhaka)
Fathers' Day
Sunday, June 21, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
July 1 Bank Holiday
Wednesday, July 1, 2020 July 1 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Bangladesh
Ashari Purnima
Saturday, July 4, 2020 Ashari Purnima is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Eid al-Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha Day 2
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Eid al-Adha Day 2 is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Eid al-Adha Day 3
Sunday, August 2, 2020 Eid al-Adha Day 3 is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Raksha Bandhan
Monday, August 3, 2020 Raksha Bandhan is a Hindu holiday in Bangladesh
Eid al-Adha Day 4
Monday, August 3, 2020 Eid al-Adha Day 4 is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Janmashtami
Tuesday, August 11, 2020 Janmashtami is a public holiday in Bangladesh
National Mourning Day
Saturday, August 15, 2020 National Mourning Day is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Ganesh Chaturthi
Saturday, August 22, 2020 Ganesh Chaturthi is a Hindu holiday in Bangladesh
Ashura
Saturday, August 29, 2020 Ashura is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Madhu Purnima
Wednesday, September 2, 2020 Madhu Purnima is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Mahalaya
Thursday, September 17, 2020 Mahalaya is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Bangladesh (Dhaka)
Prabarana Purnima
Thursday, October 1, 2020 Prabarana Purnima is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Akhari Chahar Somba
Tuesday, October 13, 2020 Akhari Chahar Somba is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
First Day of Navaratri
Saturday, October 17, 2020 First Day of Navaratri is a Hindu holiday in Bangladesh
Durga Puja
Monday, October 26, 2020 Durga Puja is a public holiday in Bangladesh
Eid e-Milad-un Nabi
Friday, October 30, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Halloween
Saturday, October 31, 2020 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Lakshmi Puja
Saturday, November 14, 2020 Lakshmi Puja is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Sri Shayama Puja
Saturday, November 14, 2020 Sri Shayama Puja is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Fateha-i-Yajdaham
Friday, November 27, 2020 Fateha-i-Yajdaham is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
Victory Day
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 Victory Day is a public holiday in Bangladesh
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Bangladesh (Dhaka)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day is a optional holiday in Bangladesh
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.