Swaziland has a total of 17 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in eSwatini (Mbabane)
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Birthday of King Mswati III
Friday, April 19, 2019 Birthday of King Mswati III is a public holiday in eSwatini
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
National Flag Day
Thursday, April 25, 2019 National Flag Day is a public holiday in eSwatini
May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in eSwatini (Mbabane)
Birthday of the late King Sobhuza
Monday, July 22, 2019 Birthday of the late King Sobhuza is a public holiday in eSwatini
Umhlanga Reed Dance
Monday, September 2, 2019 Umhlanga Reed Dance is a public holiday in eSwatini
Somhlolo Day (Independence Day)
Friday, September 6, 2019 Somhlolo Day (Independence Day) is a public holiday in eSwatini
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in eSwatini (Mbabane)
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in eSwatini (Mbabane)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day is a public holiday in eSwatini
Incwala Day
Saturday, December 28, 2019 Incwala Day is a public holiday in eSwatini