Russian Federation has a total of 28 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
Russians celebrate New Year’s Day in accordance with the Gregorian calendar on January 1.
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
New Year Holiday Week
A 2012 decree has extended the number of days, and the dates for the New Year break.
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Orthodox Christmas Day
Many Russians celebrate Christmas Day on January 7 in the Gregorian calendar, which corresponds to December 25 in the Julian calendar.
Monday, January 7, 2019
New Year Holiday Week
A 2012 decree has extended the number of days, and the dates for the New Year break.
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Old New Year
Monday, January 14, 2019
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Defender of the Fatherland Day
Many Russians celebrate Defender of the Fatherland Day on February 23, when they honor military forces and veterans.
Saturday, February 23, 2019
Special Operations Forces Day
Special Operations Forces Day in Russia falls on February 27.
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
International Women's Day
Many Russians pay tribute to women’s role in Russian society by celebrating International Women’s Day on March 8.
Friday, March 8, 2019
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Orthodox Easter Day
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Sunday, April 28, 2019
Spring and Labor Day
For many Russians, Spring and Labor Day, which falls on May 1, is a family holiday and a time for relaxation.
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Spring and Labor Day Holiday
A 2012 decree has changed the number of days, and the dates for the Spring and Labor Day Holidays.
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Ramadan starts
Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Monday, May 6, 2019
Victory Day
One of the biggest Russian holidays, Victory Day, marks Germany’s surrender to the Soviet Union in 1945, ending one of the bloodiest wars in Russia’s history.
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Defender of the Fatherland Day holiday
Friday, May 10, 2019
Lailat al-Qadr
Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Friday, May 31, 2019
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Russia Day
Russia Day, annually celebrated on June 12, marks the beginning of democratic reforms in Russia and is one of the newest holidays in the Russian Federation.
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday, August 12, 2019
Muharram
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Day of Knowledge
Sunday, September 1, 2019
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019
Unity Day
Unity Day, which is on November 4, is one of the newest and the most controversial holidays in Russia.
Monday, November 4, 2019
The Prophet's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday, November 10, 2019
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019