Malaysia has a total of 62 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Birthday of Yang di-Pertuan Besar
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thaipusam
Monday, January 21, 2019
Federal Territory Day
Friday, February 1, 2019
Chinese Lunar New Year's Day
Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Maha Shivaratri
Monday, March 4, 2019
Anniversary of the coronation of the Sultan of Terengganu
Monday, March 4, 2019
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Holi
Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Birthday of the Sultan of Johor
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Declaration of Malacca as Historical City
Monday, April 15, 2019
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday, April 19, 2019
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday, April 21, 2019
Birthday of the Sultan of Terengganu
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Labour Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Ramadan begins
Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Monday, May 6, 2019
Pahang State Holiday
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Wesak Day
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Wesak Day observed
Monday, May 20, 2019
Nuzul Al-Quran
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Harvest Festival
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Harvest Festival Day 2
Friday, May 31, 2019
Gawai Dayak
Saturday, June 1, 2019
Gawai Dayak Holiday
Sunday, June 2, 2019
Gawai Dayak Holiday observed
Monday, June 3, 2019
Hari Raya Puasa
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Hari Raya Puasa Day 2
Thursday, June 6, 2019
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019
George Town World Heritage City Day
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Penang Governor's Birthday
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Birthday of the Raja of Perlis
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Sarawak Independence Day
Monday, July 22, 2019
Hari Raya Haji
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Hari Raya Haji (Day 2)
Monday, August 12, 2019
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Janmashtami
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Malaysia's National Day
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Muharram/New Year
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday, September 2, 2019
The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday
Monday, September 9, 2019
Malaysia Day
Monday, September 16, 2019
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019
Navaratri
Sunday, September 29, 2019
Birthday of the Governor of Sabah
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Hol Day
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Dussehra
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Birthday of the Governor of Malacca
Friday, October 11, 2019
Birthday of the Governor of Sarawak
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Birthday of the Sultan of Pahang
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Diwali/Deepavali
Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Sunday, October 27, 2019
Birthday of the Sultan of Perak
Friday, November 1, 2019
The Prophet Muhammad's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Saturday, November 9, 2019
Birthday of the Sultan of Kelantan
Monday, November 11, 2019
Birthday of the Sultan of Kelantan (Day 2)
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Birthday of the Sultan of Selangor
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, December 31, 2019