Malaysia has a total of 62 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Birthday of Yang di-Pertuan Besar
Monday January 14
Thaipusam
Monday January 21
Federal Territory Day
Friday February 1
Chinese Lunar New Year's Day
Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Tuesday February 5
Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year
Wednesday February 6
Valentine's Day
Thursday February 14
Maha Shivaratri
Monday March 4
Anniversary of the coronation of the Sultan of Terengganu
Monday March 4
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Holi
Thursday March 21
Birthday of the Sultan of Johor
Saturday March 23
Isra and Mi'raj
Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Wednesday April 3
Declaration of Malacca as Historical City
Monday April 15
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21
Birthday of the Sultan of Terengganu
Saturday April 27
Labour Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Ramadan begins
Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Monday May 6
Pahang State Holiday
Tuesday May 7
Wesak Day
Sunday May 19
Wesak Day observed
Monday May 20
Nuzul Al-Quran
Wednesday May 22
Harvest Festival
Thursday May 30
Harvest Festival Day 2
Friday May 31
Gawai Dayak
Saturday June 1
Gawai Dayak Holiday
Sunday June 2
Gawai Dayak Holiday observed
Monday June 3
Hari Raya Puasa
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5
Hari Raya Puasa Day 2
Thursday June 6
June Solstice
Friday June 21
George Town World Heritage City Day
Sunday July 7
Penang Governor's Birthday
Saturday July 13
Birthday of the Raja of Perlis
Wednesday July 17
Sarawak Independence Day
Monday July 22
Hari Raya Haji
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Sunday August 11
Hari Raya Haji (Day 2)
Monday August 12
Raksha Bandhan
Thursday August 15
Janmashtami
Saturday August 24
Malaysia's National Day
Saturday August 31
Muharram/New Year
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Sunday September 1
Ganesh Chaturthi
Monday September 2
The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday
Monday September 9
Malaysia Day
Monday September 16
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Navaratri
Sunday September 29
Birthday of the Governor of Sabah
Saturday October 5
Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Hol Day
Saturday October 5
Dussehra
Tuesday October 8
Birthday of the Governor of Malacca
Friday October 11
Birthday of the Governor of Sarawak
Saturday October 12
Birthday of the Sultan of Pahang
Thursday October 24
Diwali/Deepavali
Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Monday October 28
Birthday of the Sultan of Perak
Friday November 1
The Prophet Muhammad's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Saturday November 9
Birthday of the Sultan of Kelantan
Monday November 11
Birthday of the Sultan of Kelantan (Day 2)
Tuesday November 12
Birthday of the Sultan of Selangor
Wednesday December 11
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 24
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31