Hong Kong has a total of 31 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Chinese Lunar New Year's Day
Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Tuesday February 5
Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year
Wednesday February 6
Third day of Chinese Lunar New Year
Thursday February 7
Valentine's Day
Thursday February 14
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Tomb Sweeping Day
Friday April 5
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday April 20
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 22
Labour Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Buddha's Birthday
Sunday May 12
Mother's Day
Sunday May 12
Day following Buddha's Birthday
Monday May 13
Dragon Boat Festival
Friday June 7
Father's Day
Sunday June 16
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day
Monday July 1
Hungry Ghost Festival
Thursday August 15
Mid-Autumn Festival
Friday September 13
Day after Mid-Autumn Festival
Saturday September 14
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Confucius' Birthday
Wednesday September 25
National Day of the People's Republic of China
Tuesday October 1
Chung Yeung Festival
Monday October 7
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Thursday October 31
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25
Boxing Day
Thursday December 26
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31