Hong Kong has a total of 30 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Chinese Lunar New Year's Day
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 Chinese New Year is the first day of the Chinese calendar, which is a lunisolar calendar mainly used for traditional celebrations.
Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year is a national holiday in Hong Kong
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
Tomb Sweeping Day
Friday, April 5, 2019 Tomb Sweeping Day is a national holiday in Hong Kong
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labour Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Buddha's Birthday
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Buddha's Birthday is a national holiday in Hong Kong
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Day following Buddha's Birthday
Monday, May 13, 2019 Day following Buddha's Birthday is a national holiday in Hong Kong
Dragon Boat Festival
Friday, June 7, 2019 Dragon Boat Festival is a national holiday in Hong Kong
Father's Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day
Monday, July 1, 2019 Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day is a national holiday in Hong Kong
Hungry Ghost Festival
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Hungry Ghost Festival is a observance in Hong Kong
Mid-Autumn Festival
Friday, September 13, 2019 Mid-Autumn Festival is a observance in Hong Kong
Day after Mid-Autumn Festival
Saturday, September 14, 2019 Day after Mid-Autumn Festival is a national holiday in Hong Kong
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
Confucius' Birthday
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 Confucius' Birthday is a observance in Hong Kong
National Day of the People's Republic of China
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 National Day of the People's Republic of China is a national holiday in Hong Kong
Chung Yeung Festival
Monday, October 7, 2019 Chung Yeung Festival is a national holiday in Hong Kong
Halloween
Thursday, October 31, 2019 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day is a national holiday in Hong Kong
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.