Egypt has a total of 29 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
January 1 Bank Holiday
Tuesday January 1
Coptic Christmas Day
Monday January 7
Revolution Day January 25
Friday January 25
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Sinai Liberation Day
Thursday April 25
Coptic Good Friday
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Friday April 26
Coptic Holy Saturday
The Saturday before Easter Sunday is also known as Holy Saturday for many Orthodox churches worldwide.
Saturday April 27
Coptic Easter Sunday
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Sunday April 28
Spring Festival
Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Monday April 29
Labor Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Eid el Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5
Eid el Fitr Day 2
Thursday June 6
Eid el Fitr Day 3
Friday June 7
June Solstice
Friday June 21
June 30 Revolution
Sunday June 30
July 1 Bank Holiday
Monday July 1
Revolution Day July 23
Tuesday July 23
Arafat Day
Sunday August 11
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12
Eid al-Adha Day 2
Tuesday August 13
Eid al-Adha Day 3
Wednesday August 14
Eid al-Adha Day 4
Thursday August 15
Flooding of the Nile
Thursday August 15
Muharram
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Sunday September 1
Nayrouz
Thursday September 12
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Armed Forces Day
Sunday October 6
Prophet Mohamed's birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday November 10
December Solstice
Sunday December 22